Tuesday, June 28, 2011


Arkansas is located in the southern region of United States of America. It is an Algonquian name of the Quapaw Indians. This state borders six states, namely Missouri, Tennessee, Mississippi, Louisiana, Texas and Oklahoma but its eastern border is largely the Mississippi River. Its geography ranges from the mountainous regions of the Ozarks and Ouachita mountains to the lowlands along with Mississippi River. The Capital, Little Rock is also the most populous city of the state.
The first person to reach Arkansas was a Spanish explorer, Hernando de Soto, a veteran of Pizarro's conquest of Peru who died near Lake Village on the Mississippi River in 1542. This state is one of the several US states bought from Napoleon Bonaparte in the Louisiana Purchase. Zip codes of Arkansas start with digit 7, as it is located in southern region of United States.

No comments:

Post a Comment